Top

I used Personal Backup to synchronize my iPhoto folders and now the files are mixed up? What did I do wrong?

Problem

I used Personal Backup to synchronize my iPhoto folders and now the files are mixed up? What did I do wrong?

Solution

We don't recommend that you use the synchronization function of Personal Backup with iPhoto folders.

 

iPhoto uses a very unique naming convention - Apple suggests that you never modify the contents of your iPhoto folder.

 

There is a good article called "iPhoto: About the iPhoto Library Folder" at apple.com/support - http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=61262. The article notes: "Use iPhoto to delete, duplicate, or modify any photos in the iPhoto library. Modifying the contents of the iPhoto library from anywhere but the iPhoto application could result in a library that is unusable and may cause photos and albums to no longer appear in iPhoto."

 

Instead of using the synchronization function of Personal Backup with iPhoto folders you should use the BACKUP function to make a backup of your photos to another drive - in case image files become unusable or unintentionally erased from your hard disk.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments